Keith Hernandez Announced as 2021 Cardinals Hall of Fame Inductee

1982 World Champion & 1979 Co-MVP Spent His First Ten Seasons In St. Louis

ST. LOUIS, Mo., May 5, 2021– The St. Louis Cardinals announced this evening that Keith Hernandez will be inducted into the St. Louis Cardinals Hall of Fame, presented by Edward Jones.  Hernandez will join the 2020 Class of Tom Herr, John Tudor and Bill White for induction during an enshrinement ceremony on Saturday, August 21.

Chosen by the fans, Keith Hernandez was the top vote getter in the Cardinals Hall of Fame online balloting presented by Edward Jones.  This year’s ballot also included Cardinals legends Steve Carlton, Matt Morris, Edgar Renteria and Lee Smith.

 “Selecting members for induction into the Cardinals Hall of Fame is one of our organization’s greatest traditions,” said Bill DeWitt Jr., Cardinals Chairman and CEO.  “We thank the thousands of fans who cast their votes in this year’s online balloting and congratulate Keith Hernandez on this tremendous honor.  We look forward to celebrating the achievements of all four of these remarkable players with Cardinals Nation this August.”

The St. Louis Cardinals Hall of Fame was established as a way to recognize the exceptional careers and significant achievements of the greatest players in Cardinals history, as well as those who have made extraordinary contributions to the organization.  To be eligible, players must have played for the Cardinals for at least three seasons and must be retired as a player from Major League Baseball for at least three years.

Each member of the Cardinals Hall of Fame is permanently enshrined in the Cardinals Hall of Fame Gallery presented by Edward Jones located on the second floor of Cardinals Nation in Ballpark Village, just outside the entrance to the team’s museum.  The Hall of Fame Gallery is free and open to the public.

The following is a description of each Inductee’s career as a Cardinal:

Keith Hernandez (Modern Era Player — 2021 Fan Selection)

Years: 1974 – 1983                               .299/.385/.448, 1217 H, 265 2B, 81 HR, 595 RBI, 662 R (1165 Games)

Keith Hernandez played 10 seasons with the Cardinals, winning six straight Gold Gloves from 1978-1983 at first base.  He was a National League co-MVP in 1979, batting a league leading .344 with 48 doubles, 11 home runs and 105 RBI.  The two-time All-Star was a member of the 1982 World Championship team and batted .299 that season with 94 RBI.  Hernandez’s .385 on-base percentage ranks fifth all-time among Cardinals hitters to have played at least 10 seasons with the club.


Tom Herr (Modern Era Player — 2020 Fan Selection)

Years: 1979 – 1988                    .274/.349/.354, 1021 H, 179 2B, 31 3B, 498 R, 152 SB (1029 Games)

Making his debut the same night Lou Brock clubbed his 3,000th career hit, Tom Herr made his mark on one of the most popular eras of Cardinals baseball.  He led the National League in both fielding percentage and assists as a second baseman in 1981 and finished in the top-three in double plays turned in six of his ten seasons in St. Louis.  Herr’s finest offensive season came in 1985 when he was named to the All-Star team and finished fifth in NL MVP voting after finishing in the league’s top-ten in on-base percentage, batting average, hits, doubles, runs batted in and walks.  That season he had 110 RBI and only eight home runs, making him the last player in NL history to reach 100+ RBI with less than 10 HR. A fan favorite of the Whiteyball era, Herr may best be remembered for hitting a 10th inning walk-off grand slam against the New York Mets on “Seat Cushion Night” at Busch Stadium, resulting in thousands of fans hurling their cushions onto the field.


John Tudor (Modern Era Player — 2020 Fan Selection)

Years: 1985 – 1988, 1990      62-26, 2.52 ERA, 1.08 WHIP, 22 CG, 12 SHO, 881.2 IP (125 Games Started)

During his five seasons in a Cardinals uniform, John Tudor accumulated a .705 winning percentage and 2.52 ERA over 125 starts, both of which still stand as all-time Cardinals records (minimum 750.0 IP).  The left-hander’s finest season came during his first year with the club in 1985 when he won 21 games (including a mind-blowing 20-1 record after June 1) with a miniscule 1.93 ERA and 10 complete game shutouts, and finished second in National League Cy Young voting.  A member of two National League pennant-winning teams in 1985 and 1987, Tudor had a 3.16 ERA over nine postseason starts for the Cardinals.  Tudor would go on to win at least 10 games in each of the four full seasons he pitched for the Redbirds and remains the only pitcher to reach double-digit shutouts in a single season in the last 45 years.


Bill White (Veteran Era Player — 2020 Red Ribbon Panel Selection)

Years: 1959 – 1965, 1969              .298/.357/.472, 1241 H, 209 2B, 140 HR, 843 R, 870 RBI (1113 Games)

Acquired via trade two weeks before the start of the 1959 season, Bill White would go on to spend the next seven years in the Cardinals starting lineup.  The left-handed first baseman was named an All-Star in five of those seven seasons, and was part of the all-Cardinals starting infield in the 1963 All-Star Game. After setting career highs in batting average (.324) and OPS (.868) in 1962, White returned with an even better year in 1963, establishing career bests in hits (200), runs (106), home runs (27) and RBI (109).  The next year, White finished third in NL MVP voting after putting up another 20+ HR and 100+ RBI season as the Cardinals won their first World Series title in 18 seasons.  In addition to his prowess at the plate, White earned six consecutive Gold Glove Awards from 1960-1965.  While playing for the Cardinals, White worked part-time for KMOX, a precursor to him becoming the first African-American play-by-play broadcaster for a major league team in 1971 and the first African-American president of a major sports league (National League President) in 1989.


Cardinals Hall of Fame Members (43)

Jim Bottomley Jim Edmonds Tony La Russa Branch Rickey
Ken Boyer Curt Flood Ray Lankford Scott Rolen
Sam Breadon Bob Forsch Marty Marion Red Schoendienst
Harry Brecheen Frank Frisch Pepper Martin Mike Shannon
Lou Brock Bob Gibson Tim McCarver Ted Simmons
Jack Buck Chick Hafey Willie McGee Enos Slaughter
August A. Busch Jr. Jesse Haines Mark McGwire Ozzie Smith
Chris Carpenter Whitey Herzog Joe Medwick Billy Southworth
Vince Coleman Rogers Hornsby Johnny Mize Bruce Sutter
Mort Cooper Jason Isringhausen Terry Moore Joe Torre
Dizzy Dean George Kissell Stan Musial  

Next Post:

Previous Post:

Please share, follow, or like us :)

Subscribe to The Conclave via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 16.3K other subscribers