Home Meet Me At MusialCardinals Announce Minor League Staffs for 2017

Cardinals Announce Minor League Staffs for 2017



ST. LOUIS, Mo., November 30, 2016 – The St. Louis Cardinals today announced their Minor League coaching staffs and Player Development personnel for the upcoming 2017 season.

Former Cardinal and Memphis Redbirds fan-favorite Richard “Stubby” Clapp was named the new manager at Memphis (AAA), following the promotion earlier this month of Mike Shildt to the Cardinals Major League coaching staff.  Clapp, whose uniform no. 10 was retired by Memphis in 2007, managed the Tri-City Valley Cats (A) in 2011 and 2012, advancing to the New York-Penn League Championship Series in 2012.   Clapp served as Hitting Coach for the New Hampshire Fisher Cats (Toronto-A) in 2015-16 and has both coached and played for several Team Canada entries in  international play, including the Gold Medal-winning team in the 2011 Pan American Games.

Johnny Rodriguez, a member of the Cardinals minor league coaching staff since 2011, most recently as the manager at State College (A) in 2016, will take over as manager of the Springfield Cardinals (AA).  Chris Swauger, who managed the Cardinals rookie-league Johnson City team the past two seasons, has been promoted to the managerial post for full-season Peoria (A).

The remainder of the Cardinals Minor League managerial positions will be filled by Dan Bilardello at Palm Beach (A), Joe Kruzel at State College (A),Roberto Espinoza at Johnson City, Steve Turco at Gulf Coast League Cardinals and Frey Peniche, who returns for a seventh season as the manager of the Cardinals Dominican Summer League team.

A complete listing of the Cardinals Minor League and Player Development Staffs for 2017 follows:

  Manager Pitching Coach Hitting Coach Trainer Strength Coach
Memphis Stubby Clapp Bryan Eversgerd Mark Budaska Scott Ensell Lance Thomason
Springfield Johnny Rodriguez Jason Simontacchi Jobel Jimenez Matt Corvo TBD
Palm Beach Dann Bilardello Randy Niemann Erick Almonte Brent Neuharth Aaron Rhodes
Peoria Chris Swauger Dernier Orozco Donnie Ecker Dan Martin Frank Spinelli
State College Joe Kruzel Darwin Marrero Roger LaFrancois Chris Whitman Jordan Brown
Johnson City Roberto Espinoza Cale Johnson Brandon Allen Koji Kanemura David Diaz
Gulf Coast Steve Turco Giovanni Carrara Cody Gabella TBD Dan Vega
DSL Frey Peniche Billy Villanueva John Matos TBD Carlos Nin




Mark DeJohn               Field Coordinator

Tim Leveque               Senior Pitching Coordinator

George Greer               Minor League Offensive Strategist

Ron Warner                 Minor League Infield Instructor

Paul Davis                   Assistant Pitching Coordinator

Luis Aguayo                Coordinator of Instruction Latin America

Gaylen Pitts                 Special Assistant to Player Development

Willie McGee               Special Assistant to the General Manager

David Meyer                Rehab Coordinator

Keith Joynt                  Medical Coordinator for Player Development

Jim Malone                  Athletic Development Coordinator

Jason Shutt                  Performance Physical Therapist

Frank D’Aversa           Assistant Minor League Rehab